The importace of waiting in line.

waiting in line for sneakers in Shanghai

waiting in line for sneakers in Shanghai

The kid and I were driving down the street and there was a long line wrapped around the Barnes & Noble building.  The kid asked me what those people were standing in line for, I told him a book and was excited to tell him so!  I have always felt that this generation is one of immediate gratification and would ever appreciate having to wait for stuff.  My son is like that now, every thing must be instant. If it takes more than 2 minutes he’s complaining that it takes to long. “900 years” to be exact.

black Friday line

black Friday line

Every time I see a line it excites me.  I remember one year I needed a new computer and my mother convinced me to stand in line with her at Best Buy for Black Friday. I believed the store opened at midnight or something crazy like that.  I just remember being in line for like 3 hours and it was such a strange feeling.  I actually talked to people in line.  We laughed, shared snacks, and best of all we bonded!  Best Buy gave out tickets for the items you wanted.  There was a lady in front of me who got the last ticket for the computer I wanted and the one she originally wanted was no longer available.  She overheard me say I wanted that one and offered to switch tickets with me when we got inside if she could get the one she initially wanted. I got my computer and passed 3 hours of time talking to real live people without keyboards.  Our kids might not ever know this feeling.

Harry Potter line

Harry Potter line

You can buy everything online now.  It’s no wonder the dating world is challenging, folks have no people skills!  What happened to meeting the love of your life while you were both standing in line waiting for tickets to go see Red Hot Chili Peppers or Above the Rim?  Yep, remember when you had to stand in line for movie tickets too?  Video games, music, books, all required a wait if you wanted it first or in some cases wanted it at all!  Part of the fun in getting want you wanted was the bonding in line or bragging that you actually stood in line and got while others had to do without because they didn’t make it to the line party. Who knows maybe the DMV line will be the new hook up spot, Lord knows that line isn’t going anywhere!

Lines are annoying but they are necessary for balance. Sometimes I just make my kid wait for the hell of it.  Patience is a virtue and in this microwave age and think the virtuous are disappearing into the vortex.

waiting in line for LeBrons

waiting in line for LeBrons

Leave a Reply

