The Breastfeeding Diet Debacule

My favorite Dole Orange, Peach, Mango Juice!
My favorite Dole Orange, Peach, Mango Juice!

As I started anew on my nursing journey with my little girl there were so many things I just didn’t know.  Initially we had a bad latch situation which was still going on during this time.  My little girl would cry, and cry, after she ate and I couldn’t figure out what was wrong.  I did as any normal person would do and I hit google at 3am during a feeding and looked up foods that I shouldn’t eat while nursing.  I was convinced her misery was due to my diet.

dos and don'ts of eating while feeding.
dos and don’ts of eating while feeding courtesy of healthfulmama

One thing that came up consistent on the websites was citrus.  I felt HORRIBLE! I love the dole mixed fruit juices and I had just downed 2 of them.  My grocery store had them buy one get one free so I bought 4.  As I looked further down on the list I see brussel sprouts, cauliflower, and broccoli.  All of which are my vegetables of choice and I had just had all 3 in past two days.  Accepting the fact that I was ruining my daughter’s life and I had to stop eating the foods I love did not make for an easy back to sleep transition.  I stayed up thinking of how for the next year I can’t eat brussel sprouts.  How will I live??????????  I love them so!  They make me happy!  Roasted cauliflower?  Man, that is the bees knees!  Does citrus mean no lemonade?  What will the poor people at Chick-fil-a think when they don’t see me?  You cannot go to Chick-fil-a and not get lemonade!  This is just to much!?!

At some point in time my mind shut down from all the questions and I went to sleep.  When I woke up to feed my princess again I just looked at her and smiled and thought for her I will give up everything! Except the occasional lemonade, after all we have to keep the cows who run Chick-fil-a in business:)

Leave a Reply

