The breastfeeding journey

Nipple shield

Nipple shield

When you have a child and you decide to breastfeed, you think it would be easy right?  After all it’s the most natural way to feed your baby.  You think the baby comes out, toss him or her a boob and it’s all good!  Not so much, at all, under any circumstance!

Older nipple shield

Older nipple shield

When my daughter was born she latched right on.  I thought to myself that this would be smooth sailing!  By her third feeding she was attached for 2.5 hours.  During that time I called the nurse 3 times because I didn’t think that was normal.  The nurse told me that it was great and she was just hungry.  By the time she finished her 2.5 hour session which only ended when the nurses switched shifts and the new nurse made took the baby off, my nipples felt like logs on a campfire. My daughter had an improper latch causing compression bruises.

Clay nipple shield

Clay nipple shield

From that point on whenever I tried to nurse her I would cringe in pain.  The pediatrician told me not to leave her on for more than 8 mins per side.  My midwife said 12 mins per side and the lactation consultant said 20.  I went with the pediatritian because I couldn’t take the pain.

 

Nipple shield in action

Nipple shield in action

The lactation consultant gave me a nipple shield and said it would help.  It didn’t but I decided to do some research on nipple shields.  Turns out they have been around for years!!  Who knew?  I totally thought that problems breastfeeding was a new modern woman problem.  Turns out not so much!

To be continued….

3 thoughts on “The breastfeeding journey

  1. Breastfeeding is a beautiful thing! I have been exclusively breadtfeeding my daughter for 4 months. We used a nipple shield up until she was 3 months then all of a sudden she wouldn’t nurse with it. Fine by me 🙂 Best of luck to you on your journey!

Leave a Reply

