Mommy how does the baby come out of your tummy?

if only dr deuss had a whole book explaining pregnancy!
if only Dr. Seuss had a whole book explaining delivery!

I knew I was going to have to deal with this sooner or later.  I had a brush with this question over the summer and I neatly dismissed and bs’d around the question.  My son came home from summer camp very upset because he said his friends were teasing myself and the baby.  When I asked him what they said he angrily told me that his friend said the Dr. was going to see the baby naked and that the baby would come out of my private parts.  He told his friend that is not true that the baby comes out of my tummy!  What I should have done was told him the truth then.  I did not, I just could not figure out how to explain that yes, the baby is going to come out of my private parts.  I would then have to deal with 6 months of him asking to see where the baby comes from, and how does the baby get out of your private parts and so on, and so on.  I would also then have to deal with the fact he would think I lied to him about the baby coming out of the stomach.  I was not prepared to scar my child with a c-section video to prove I was right in my lies.

Now that I am 32 weeks the questions and curiosity have increased.  I still have not figured out a way to explain childbirth to this kid.  He won’t be in the delivery room so realistically I could still play dumb.  Obviously not the best choice.  I looked for kid friendly videos to explain childbirth and I couldn’t find any.  The closest I got to a non graphic video was the babycenter video below.

I think this one might just have to do the trick.  He is going to be so grossed out lolol.  He will have so many questions.  I don’t know if I’m really ready for this!  I should have just had my children closer together so he wouldn’t even know to ask or care!

2 thoughts on “Mommy how does the baby come out of your tummy?

Leave a Reply

