The new verizon pretty commercial.

So I saw this commercial and I don’t think I really agree with the angle they took.  There is nothing wrong with telling your daughter she is pretty.  To me this commercial depicts actual passive discouragement instead of just a girl picking up on the worlds thoughts about her.  I do believe little girls should be encouraged to be anything they want to be and if your daughter prefers to make worm compost instead of going to ballet she should be encouraged.  However, that doesn’t mean she shouldn’t wear dresses or told she is pretty as often as possible.  I do agree with this commercial that the words you speak to your children are very powerful. I guess I just don’t really agree with how it was depicted.  I don’t think that is a “normal” environment.

 

See for yourselves

Leave a Reply

