Travel Tuesday: Frozen Lake Superior

frozen lake superior caves

frozen lake superior caves

I would not voluntarily travel to anyplace frozen in my right mind.  I will not travel to anyplace frozen to walk across a frozen lake for any reason at all, ever, in my life.  I did want to post this because the pictures are beautiful!  I stumbled upon these from my instagram favorite beautiful destinations.  This is the first time in 4 years that the lake has been frozen over 18 inches thick and you can walk 1.5 miles across the frozen ice into the caves.

ariel view of the lake

Ariel view of the lake

Where: Frozen Lake Superior, Apostle Islands, Bayfield, WI

How to get there: From Chicago you can drive 7 hours to Bayfield, WI

Cost: gas and possibly a rental if you choose to get one

Hotel:  there are several hotels, cottages, and inns that range from $55.00-305.00.  You can check the Bayfield Inn visitors site for all of the details

superior frozen caves

superior frozen caves

currency: US dollar

Language: English

FYI just to clarify I am never going here. EVER!

Leave a Reply

