My 2 ingredient pancake disaster.

My sister sent me a post on gluten free two ingredient pancakes.  While I have no need to be gluten free I was intrigued and thought I would try them.  If there was really a way for me to make pancakes with two ingredients then I was all for it!

2 ingredient pancakes

2 ingredient pancakes

Here is the recipe from www.topwithcinnamon.com

1 large banana, mashed (should be around 1/3 to 1/2 cup when mashed)
2 eggs
optional add ins:
1/8 tsp baking powder (see notes)
2 tbsp nut butter, pb2/peanut flour, almond flour or dessicated coconut (see notes)
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 cup blueberries/ raspberries/ chopped nuts
2 tbsp mini chocolate chips

Peel and mash the banana, stir in the egg. Mix in any non-chunky add ins that you want (e.g. nut flours or butters, baking powder…).

Heat a non stick skillet and lightly spray with oil. Tun the heat down to medium-low.

Pour a circle of batter into the pan (I used about 1 or 2 tbsp of batter per pancake).

Cook until golden brown on the underside (around 1 minute) sprinkle on any chunky ingredients (e.g. chocolate chips, fruit, nuts, if using), then use a metal spatula to flip and cook until golden brown on the other side (30 seconds to 1 minute).

Serve warm with whatever the heck you want

Here is what I used:

eggs and banana

eggs and banana

IMG950699

I followed the directions and did a few add ons as suggested. Here they are:

my add ins.

my add ins.

This is what I got:

fried banana egg sheets

fried banana egg sheets

At this point my kid is starving and there is no way I could serve this so I went for french toast.  I butter the bread in mango butter, dipped it in my egg and banana tango mix and made it work.

Mango butter

Mango butter

The end result.

banana french toast

banana french toast

I am absolutely never going to try this again every in my life.  Eveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer!

Leave a Reply

