My bad mother moment curtosey of Beyonce.

I woke up like this!

I woke up like this!

On the night of Beyonce’s visual album release I was on the road in Louisville.  I saw the instagram messages come through and it didn’t really register to me what was going on.  I was sleepy and I was still destroyed from scandal.  The next morning when I woke I fully realized what happened.  Beyonce had dropped an album and we were none the wiser.  That day was Friday.  Friday I had a full day complete with 3 flights 4 cities, and no ipad.  I do have an iphone but I have no idea how to work it.  Shit just got real and panic began to set in.

Drunk in love.

Drunk in love.

I realized that I would not have the ability to download and watch the album until at least 10pm that night.  With every passing hour and every instagram, facebook post, or tweet I saw about the album I got more, and more antsy.  When I landed in Kansas city one of my radio stations played a few cuts from the album for me and I felt like my life was falling apart.  It was glorious!!!  Just then I got a phone call from my music director in St. Louis informing me of snow and unpleasant plane riding conditions. YES!!!!!!!!!!!  I would now be able to cancel my flight to St. Louis and go home to download!

partition

partition

I got home around 830pm and immediately went to my room to download my music and watch.  I played with my kid for 5 mins and allowed him to sit in the bed with me while I geared up.  I never download stuff off itunes so I had to go through 30 mins of resetting my password and so forth.  When I got ready to download the kid’s dad hands me the kid’s report card.  At that moment I had to make a decision. Beyonce or report card.  That report card didn’t get opened until well after midnight.  I needed time to process the videos, and get my feelings and life in check.

cuuuuuuuuuuuuuuute!

cuuuuuuuuuuuuuuute!

The next morning I didn’t even talk to the kid about his report card because I was still feeling served by Mrs. Carter.  This moment will go down as one of my bad mommy moments, and quite frankly I could care less.  Phonics can wait! All hail king B!!!

Leave a Reply

