My First Dino Kit

My First dino kit

My First dino kit

I am always looking for things to entertain my child that require him to work, think, or run around until he is tired.  We were in target this past weekend and he asked if he could get a toy.  I told him he could get a science toy.  We went into the very, very, very small science section of the store.  We were able to find ONE science kit for his age group. ONE!

finding fossils has begun!

finding fossils has begun!

I am very happy we found it.  The my first dino kit was priced at $9.99 I wasn’t to mad about it:-)  Inside are three dinosaur activities.  An excavation activity complete with goggles, and utensils.  A growing dinosaur activity, and a glow in dark dinosaur skeleton.  We started with the fossil finding excavation.

serious concentration

serious concentration

This activity literally took the kid over an hour and he had such a great time wetting the dirt and carefully digging out the dinosaur bones.  I LOVED it!  As a mom, giving my kid something to do for a full hour that he is engaged in and doesn’t require my help or participation is golden.  He shrieked with excitement each fossil he found and chiseled out.

This activity is super messy.  I didn’t realize that until after there was mud all over the only carpeted place in my house.  I had him do it in my office so that I could see him if he needed help.

close up of the fossils in the dirt

close up of the fossils in the dirt

We didn’t do the other two yet we are going to save them for next week.  If you see this kid in your local target, pick it up!!

Leave a Reply

