The shinola bixby obsession

My current obcession the Bixby bike from Shinola
My current obsession the Bixby bike from Shinola

I try not to make it a habit to obsess over things I won’t afford.  By won’t I mean that just because you can buy it doesn’t mean you should, or that it’s the best use of your money, or that it is ok to feed your child butter and water sandwiches for the next 6 weeks to make up for your purchase.

This, I feel is worth my obsession for several reasons.  One it comes in pink.  Two, it’s made in Detroit and any company that takes a stand and keeps jobs in the US AND helps to revitalize a city that has seen better days is a captain in my book.  Three, in my mind I feel like I’m going to look uber sexy riding around on this bike.  It speaks to my inner being and is begging me to take it to the farmers market.  For those reasons plus a few more including riding bikes with the kid, I feel like I need this bike.

I first stumbled upon this gorgeous thing when I was literally wandering the plaza area in Kansas City.  It was freezing, I was waiting for my ride, and I had been moving, working and/or on a plane since 6am that morning.  When I walked into the Shinola pop up store I looked every bit of what I just described plus some.  The wonderful sales people there took 30 mins of their time to explain to me all about the bikes, watches, and the background of having the business in Detroit.  Good customer service took me from liking the bike to becoming obsessed with the bike!

This bike was engineered with a bunch of geometry, and performance in mind to make it the most comfortable and smooth ride but I just want it because it’s pretty and pink!  Is that shallow? lololol  Here is a blurb of the company site that sums up the bicycle.

“We love the easy style that a cruiser bike implies, but not the impracticality of the slack frame geometry and cumbersome handling. The Bixby riffs off the fun look of the curved top tube, but improves on the fit and function with nimble frame geometry and a Shimano 3-speed internal hub. The American-made steel frame and fork are designed for comfort, utility and smooth urban riding, in dry or wet. The Bixby is offered in both a classic men’s and women’s frame design, with thoughtful touches like gender-specific saddle design and proportional geometry. Like The Bixby’s big brother, the Runwell, The Bixby frame has custom Shinola dropouts, fork crown, rack and fender mounts and internal cable routing. Style. Performance. Smooth. Efficient. The Bixby has it all.”

At the end of the day, I still might purchase the bike.  I just may have to cancel our trip to Legoland and Disneyland in Dec for which I have already purchased the plane tickets.  That might make me a bad mom, but it will make me a bad mom on a hot bike:-)

Leave a Reply

